Awards of Excellence - Overview

The NBBQA Awards of Excellence are a long-running award series that recognizes excellence in the commercial side of the barbecue industry. Products available in stores and on-line are eligible to enter.

Key Dates

            October 1, 2021 – Entries for the Awards of Excellence are submitted

             January 14, 2022 -  All entries must be received

     February 4 & 5, 2022 -  Judging occurs 

             February 25, 2022  by this date, all Top 5 position, place winners will be notified 

             TBD –  Awards Ceremony 


Judging will be held at Sweet Swine O'Mine Distributing 

Judging will utilize the SCA methodology with NBBQA judging criteria.

The judges will be as follows...

  • Culinary Chefs, any person with a current certified judge number with any of the following sanctioning bodies, SCA, KCBS, PNWBA, MBM, FBA, GBA, or in the EAT Methodology.
  • Judges may not have any business or family connection to anyone with entries in the Awards of Excellence